Living the life unlived…

Image

This book I’ve been reading, “Kisses from Katie” by Katie Davis, has captivated me. She says:

“People who really want to make a difference in this world usually do it, one way or another.”

“I’ve noticed something about people who make a difference in the world. They hold the unshakeable conviction that individuals are extremely important, that every life matters. They get excited over one smile, they are willing to feed one stomach, educate one mind, and treat one wound. They aren’t determined to revolutionise the world all at once; They’re satisfied with small changes. Over time though, the small changes add up, they even transform nations, and yes, the world.

Katie’s desire to love, to live fully from her heart and her convictions has touched me deeply; stirred things in me. Her actions in Uganda come from a desire to love more deeply, live more fully and to know God more completely. 

Image

 

Individuals are extremely important. This having cancer has shown me. I watched the “Life of Pi” movie yesterday. In it, the character Pi, had deep sadness that he never took the opportunity to express his love for specific individuals when he could have. I felt that grief in hospital reflecting on having cancer and life-saving surgery. So I picked up the phone and over a series of days called everyone I purported to love and from my heart apologised for being a poor friend/sister/daughter and poured out my desire to love them, to get to know them, I said “sorry” and sincerely meant it and to begin a real relationship with them. Over a series of weeks I did the same with other friends, family and significant others. I learnt that love is there to be given, to be expressed to be shared. And life is about our connections with one another; creating them and reaching out to one another.

God gave me a love to give. Call it “natural love”, call it what you want. But it is the only love I have to give. And, I am deeply grateful I have it to give and can choose to grow it.

All the things I want to do in my life I can do them; it isn’t too late! Any heart we touch is a change in the world. Our own heart’s healing is a change in this world.

Image

 

http://www.ecotoys4kids.com kinder to the planet; kinder to our kids…and helping me heal naturally from cancer!

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kirrileeheartman
    Feb 03, 2014 @ 03:03:49

    Dr Demartini writes about balancing things up in life so we can move forward into abundance and…more balance. I’m sure he wrote it more eloquently than I can express. I have tentatively begun reaching out to thank people who supported us when Robin was ill in hospital. I find it challenging but would eventually like to contact all my friends to thank them for the gifts they give me, and yes also apologising for things too. xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

